The Redneck Hummingbird is Here!

Male Hummingbird

We have had frequent visits from ruby-throated hummingbirds at our house over the last 5 years.  We normally have females visiting our feeder from Spring through Fall; sometimes 2 or 3 at a time.  I remember the first time we heard them; our son thought it was a bee buzzing around our porch.  We rarely see male hummingbirds.  In the last couple of weeks, we have begun to see a small male. 

Last week our daughter looked out the window at the feeder, and exclaimed “The redneck hummingbird is here!”  Now, since we live in the South, the word “redneck” takes on several meanings.  I guess that a hummingbird in North Florida could indeed be a redneck hummingbird!  We all had a good laugh and still do every time we see him.   Maybe he likes the Alison Krauss music we have been listening too! 

I have been trying to get a photo of the mysterious visitor; they are hard to photograph.  Naturally they will linger at the feeder when no camera is in sight, and the moment I have camera in hand they are nowhere to be seen!   Finally, I had the camera in my hand when our friend came for dinner, so now we have some photos.

We have found that a simple round plastic feeder is the easiest to maintain and clean.  We have the feeder right outside our dining room window, and we have enjoyed the company of our redneck friends immensely.  Our visitors also dine on nectar from our shrimp plants and roses.

If you want to enjoy the frequent company of hummingbirds, you can set up your restaurant using this simple recipe.    Mix 1/4 cup white sugar with 1 cup water.  Clean the feeder and change the nectar weekly to keep them happy!

 

One thought on “The Redneck Hummingbird is Here!

  1. Sitting here on my front deck there are two “Rednecks” right in front of me fighting for the juice. They also hovers about 3 to 4 feet in front of me looking at me. I’m just amazed and delighted that they are that comfy with my presence. I look forward to seeing them every season.

Leave a Reply

